Computer Book
Computer Consulting
Computer Networking
Computer Security
Computer Tips
Computer Training

Jo Blitz A. Escotal
ITIL Consulting
Motivational Speaker
Online Marketing

Join Our Mailing List!


Security+ Acronyms

3DES – Triple Digital Encryption Standard
AAA – Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting
ACL – Access Control List
AES - Advanced Encryption Standard
AES256 – Advanced Encryption Standards 256bit
AH - Authentication Header
ALE - Annualized Loss Expectancy
AP - Access Point
API - Application Programming Interface
ASP - Application Service Provider
ARO - Annualized Rate of Occurrence
ARP - Address Resolution Protocol
AUP - Acceptable Use Policy
BCP – Business Continuity Planning
BIOS – Basic Input / Output System
BOTS – Network Robots
CA – Certificate Authority
CAC - Common Access Card
CAN - Controller Area Network
CCMP – Counter-Mode/CBC-Mac Protocol
CCTV - Closed-circuit television
CERT – Computer Emergency Response Team
CHAP – Challenge Handshake Authentication Protocol
CIRT – Computer Incident Response Team
CMM – Capability Maturity Model
COOP – Continuity of Operation Planning
CP – Contingency Planning
CRC – Cyclical Redundancy Check
CRL – Certification Revocation List
CSU – Channel Service Unit
DAC – Discretionary Access Control
DDOS – Distributed Denial of Service
DEP – Data Execution Prevention
DES – Digital Encryption Standard
DHCP – Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol
DLL - Dynamic Link Library
DLP - Data Loss Prevention
DMZ – Demilitarized Zone
DNS – Domain Name Service (Server)
DOS – Denial of Service
CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam Objectives 13 of 16
DRP – Disaster Recovery Plan
DSA – Digital Signature Algorithm
DSL - Digital Subscriber line
DSU – Data Service Unit
EAP - Extensible Authentication Protocol
ECC - Elliptic Curve Cryptography
EFS – Encrypted File System
EMI – Electromagnetic Interference
ESP – Encapsulated Security Payload
FTP – File Transfer Protocol
GPO – Group Policy Object
GPU - Graphic Processing Unit
GRE - Generic Routing Encapsulation
HDD – Hard Disk Drive
HIDS – Host Based Intrusion Detection System
HIPS – Host Based Intrusion Prevention System
HMAC – Hashed Message Authentication Code
HSM – Hardware Security Module
HTML – Hypertext Markup Language
HTTP – Hypertext Transfer Protocol
HTTPS – Hypertext Transfer Protocol over SSL
HVAC – Heating, Ventilation Air Conditioning
IaaS - Infrastructure as a Service
ICMP - Internet Control Message Protocol
ID – Identification
IKE – Internet Key Exchange
IM - Instant messaging
IMAP4 - Internet Message Access Protocol v4
IP - Internet Protocol
IPSEC – Internet Protocol Security
IRC - Internet Relay Chat
ISP – Internet Service Provider
ITCP – IT Contingency Plan
IV - Initialization Vector
KDC - Key Distribution Center
L2TP – Layer 2 Tunneling Protocol
LAN – Local Area Network
LANMAN – Local Area Network Manager
LDAP – Lightweight Directory Access Protocol
LEAP – Lightweight Extensible Authentication Protocol
MAC – Mandatory Access Control / Media Access Control
MAC - Message Authentication Code
CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam Objectives 14 of 16
MAN - Metropolitan Area Network
MBR – Master Boot Record
MD5 – Message Digest 5
MPLS – Multi-Protocol Layer Switch
MSCHAP – Microsoft Challenge Handshake Authentication Protocol
MTBF – Mean Time Between Failures
MTTR – Mean Time to Recover
MTU - Maximum Transmission Unit
NAC – Network Access Control
NAT – Network Address Translation
NDA – Non-Disclosure Agreement
NIDS – Network Based Intrusion Detection System
NIPS – Network Based Intrusion Prevention System
NIST – National Institute of Standards & Technology
NOS – Network Operating System
NTFS - New Technology File System
NTLM – New Technology LANMAN
NTP - Network Time Protocol
OCSP – Online Certification Security Protocol
OLA – Open License Agreement
OS – Operating System
OVAL – Open Vulnerability Assessment Language
PAM – Pluggable Authentication Modules
PAP – Password Authentication Protocol
PAT - Port Address Translation
PBX – Private Branch Exchange
PCAP – Packet Capture
PEAP – Protected Extensible Authentication Protocol
PED - Personal Electronic Device
PGP – Pretty Good Privacy
PII – Personally Identifiable Information
PIV – Personal Identity Verification
PKI – Public Key Infrastructure
POTS – Plain Old Telephone Service
PPP - Point-to-point Protocol
PPTP – Point to Point Tunneling Protocol
PSK – Pre-Shared Key
PTZ – Pan-Tilt-Zoom
RA – Recovery Agent
RAD - Rapid application development
RADIUS – Remote Authentication Dial-in User Server
RAID – Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks
CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam Objectives 15 of 16
RAS – Remote Access Server
RBAC – Role Based Access Control
RBAC – Rule Based Access Control
RIPEMD – RACE Integrity Primitives Evaluation Message Digest
ROI – Return of Investment
RPO – Recovery Point Objective
RSA – Rivest, Shamir, & Adleman
RTO – Recovery Time Objective
RTP – Real-Time Transport Protocol
S/MIME – Secure / Multipurpose internet Mail Extensions
SAML – Security Assertions Markup Language
SaaS - Software as a Service
SCAP - Security Content Automation Protocol
SCSI - Small Computer System Interface
SDLC - Software Development Life Cycle
SDLM - Software Development Life Cycle Methodology
SEH – Structured Exception Handler
SHA – Secure Hashing Algorithm
SHTTP – Secure Hypertext Transfer Protocol
SIM – Subscriber Identity Module
SLA – Service Level Agreement
SLE - Single Loss Expectancy
SMS - Short Message Service
SMTP – Simple Mail Transfer Protocol
SNMP - Simple Network Management Protocol
SOAP – Simple Object Access Point
SONET – Synchronous Optical Network Technologies
SPIM - Spam over Internet Messaging
SSD – Solid State Drive
SSH – Secure Shell
SSL – Secure Sockets Layer
SSO – Single Sign On
STP – Shielded Twisted Pair
TACACS – Terminal Access Controller Access Control System
TCP/IP – Transmission Control Protocol / Internet Protocol
TKIP - Temporal Key Integrity Protocol
TLS – Transport Layer Security
TPM – Trusted Platform Module
TSIG – Transaction Signature
UAT - User Acceptance Testing
UEFI – Unified Extensible Firmware Interface
UPS - Uninterruptable Power Supply
CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam Objectives 16 of 16
URL - Universal Resource Locator
USB – Universal Serial Bus
UTP – Unshielded Twisted Pair
VDI – Virtualization Desktop Infrastructure
VLAN – Virtual Local Area Network
VoIP - Voice over IP
VPN – Virtual Private Network
VTC – Video Teleconferencing
WAF- Web-Application Firewall
WAP – Wireless Access Point
WEP – Wired Equivalent Privacy
WIDS – Wireless Intrusion Detection System
WIPS – Wireless Intrusion Prevention System
WPA – Wireless Protected Access
WTLS – Wireless TLS
XML – Extensible Markup Language
XSRF - Cross-Site Request Forgery
XSRF- Cross-Site Request Forgery
XSS - Cross-Site Scripting


microsoft certified
itil certified
comptia certified

Copyright © 2013 Escotal.Com